Dixon Place hosts Momenta Festival III Opening Night – Air from Another Planet Momenta Quartet

About This Show

Air from Another Planet” at Dixon Place Theater curated by Emilie-Anne Gendron, violin, assembles six fearlessly introspective works that manipulate our sense of time and space—using the force of memory, imagination, or emotion to render what was once familiar strange and unearthly. Works include the U.S. premiere of Michael Small’s White Space; the New York premiere of Alyssa Weinberg’s Unstrung; a world-premiere version of Entrückung (“Rapture”), the mystical finale of Arnold Schoenberg’s second quartet, with theremin replacing the usual soprano; and Elizabeth Brown’s Piranesi, as well as works by Biber and Kee Yong Chong.


Heinrich Ignaz Franz von Biber (1644-1704): Rosary Passacaglia for solo violin in g minor, C. 105 (1676)
Alyssa Weinberg (b. 1988): Unstrung for solo violin (2017)
*New York premiere

Kee Yong Chong (b. 1971): Silence Cosmos for string quartet (2005)


Michael Small (b. 1988): White Space – Meditation on Saenredam for solo violin (2015)
*US Premiere

Elizabeth Brown (b. 1953): Piranesi for theremin and string quartet (2007/12)
Written for the Momenta Quartet

Arnold Schoenberg (1874-1951): Entrückung (“Rapture”) from String Quartet No. 2 Op. 10 for soprano and string quartet (1907-08)
*World-premiere version for theremin and string quartet

about Momenta Quartet

Momenta: the plural of momentum – four individuals in motion towards a common goal. This is the idea behind the Momenta Quartet, whose eclectic vision encompasses contemporary music of all aesthetic backgrounds alongside great music from the recent and distant past.  The New York City-based quartet has premiered over 100 works, collaborated with over 120 living composers and was praised by The New York Times for its “diligence, curiosity and excellence.” In the words of The New Yorker’s Alex Ross, “few American players assume Haydn’s idiom with such ease.”

Sunday, October 1, 2017 at 7pm

Free Admission

Estimated Runtime
100 minutes

share £



Emilie-Anne Gendron and Alex Shiozaki


Stephanie Griffin


Michael Haas


Elizabeth Brown


Lothar Osterburg

Photo credit:

John Gurrin